Pure In Heart

Elder Jason S. Solomon

Blessed are the pure in heart: for they shall see God. – Matthew 5:8

When I consider the beatitude above, I wonder, how can I be pure in heart?  I have sinned, and I am often tempted like other men.  Indeed, how can anyone be pure in heart?  Haven’t we all fallen short of the glory of God?  Then I consider the Apostles and other godly saints of the Scriptures.  They were regular people like me, and yet they found purity.  How did they do it?  

I suppose for Many people today this is not a problem, because they rest in the notion that people are basically good.  They believe that given the right opportunities and training, people will definitely choose to do good.  However, the Holy Bible refutes that notion.  In fact, a basic reading of history points another direction.  People are not basically good in themselves.  In case you need a little convincing, let me highlight some verses that challenge this common notion that the human heart is innately good.  “The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it”(Ezekiel 36:22-27)?  “Who can say, I have made my heart clean, I am pure from my sin” (Proverbs 20:9)?  “For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God” (Romans 3:23).  Read more…

One comment

  1. […] via Pure In Heart — Sermons, Messages, and Such […]

Leave a Reply

